Character Interviews: Huritt (The Society)

This is the second post in my character interviews feature where I interview characters. This interview is of another character from The Society. You can also read my interview with the main character of that story: Ledia. The questions are the same and came from the same source, and again, this interview would take place right before the story starts.

What do you consider your greatest achievement?
As long as he doesn’t see this, I’ll say putting up with my father. And maybe just being able to survive the amount of stress it takes to keep up with everything expected of me.

What is your idea of perfect happiness?
Being able to do something that I really want to do instead of what is expected of me just because of my birth, and also having people around who I know actually care about me.

What is your current state of mind?
The same state of mind I’m always in. I’m worrying about everything and trying to get through it all with as little damage done as possible.

What is your favorite occupation?
I don’t like talking about this because my job has been determined for me since birth, and I don’t want anyone to think I’m ungrateful for it. And I do enjoy some aspects of it. If I really got to decide what I could do, I’m not sure what decision I would make. Like I said, I try to avoid thinking about it.

What is your most treasured possession?
This is kind of embarrassing, but my best friend Miles wrote me this letter when we were twelve that’s the most honest thing anyone has ever said to me. I’d never in a million years tell anyone what it said, but it meant a lot knowing he trusted me enough to tell me all of that.

What or who is the greatest love of your life?
I’m still trying to figure that out.

What is your favorite journey?
I don’t know if this is a “journey” exactly, but I really like being outdoors. It’s the only time when my mind actually feels calm.

What is your most marked characteristic?
To most of the world it’s that I’ll have a regional head position some day.

When and where were you the happiest?
Definitely when I was little. I’m not really sure when that all went away and I figured out that the world wasn’t perfect.

What is it that you most dislike?
As long as he never sees this, then my father.

What is your greatest fear?
Probably what my father is capable of, but in a more existential sort of way, I’d say I’m most scared that I’ll always be unhappy with my life.

What is your greatest extravagance?
Allowing myself to have feelings for someone who I know is never going to like me back and who I couldn’t possibly be with anyway.

Which living person do you most despise?
My father.

What is your greatest regret?
That I don’t have more courage to take a stand against what my dad is trying to do.

Which talent would you most like to have?
The ability to be a really great leader.

Where would you like to live?
I think I’d be comfortable staying in either Newburgh or Evansville.

What do you regard as the lowest depth of misery?
My father.

What is the quality you most like in a man?
The ability to stand up for what is right.

What is the quality you most like in a woman?
The same thing.

What is the trait you most deplore in yourself?
I keep coming back to this, but I hate the fact that I’m basically a coward.

What is the trait you most deplore in others?
The inability to look past their own selves and see how they’re affecting others.

What do you most value in your friends?
Their willingness to support me even when it can be really hard to do.

Who is your favorite hero in fiction?
I really like Batman. I think it’s mostly because he chose to be a superhero without being given supernatural powers.

Who are your heroes in real life?
Really great leaders who did what was right even if it was difficult. I have quite a few.

Which living person do you most admire?
This is embarrassing, but I actually think it would be Mr. Vesirishvili. My dad would kill me if he found out I’d said that.

What do you consider the most overrated virtue?
Detachment. Why would you ever want to detach yourself from what’s happening in the world?

On what occasions do you lie?
I lie to my father all the time.

Which words or phrases do you most overuse?
Probably variations of words like “okay” or “yes” in order to agree to stuff people say.

If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be?
I’ve already said this multiple times, but I would be braver.

What are your favorite names?
I’ve never really thought about it.

How would you like to die?
In the least painful way possible.

If you were to die and come back as a person or a thing, what do you think it would be?
Hopefully someone who has a bit more freedom to do what they want with their life.

What is your motto?
You have the power to change your life.

Leave a Reply

