Character Interview: Devon (The Society)

It’s time for yet another character interview. (I think I’ll be taking a bit of a break from these after this before I do the rest of The Society‘s characters.) The questions are the same as always, and once again, this takes place right before the story starts.

What do you consider your greatest achievement?
I’ve had a job on my favorite fansite for a couple of years now, and I feel really proud of how we’ve managed to grow the site just since I’ve been there.

What is your idea of perfect happiness?
It would be not having any worries about what others think about you, not having any financial problems, and having a really supportive group of people around you.

What is your current state of mind?
Stressed over this test I have tomorrow, but I’m trying to distract myself with this.

What is your favorite occupation?
It would be cool to do something kind of nerdy, but I doubt it’ll happen. Whatever I do has to have time for me to take over for my mom on the werewolf council once she retires.

What is your most treasured possession?
I have a few signed books, so I’m going to cheat and say that all of them count as one possession.

What or who is the greatest love of your life?
Um, maybe it’s best if I stick to “what.” I think it would be the fandoms I’m in.  Both for the works themselves and everything surrounding them. They’re such great communities.

What is your favorite journey?
Do journeys in books, movies, etc. count? Can I say going to Hogwarts?

What is your most marked characteristic?
To people who first meet me, it’s probably my shyness. To my friends, it’s that I’m a nerd.

When and where were you the happiest?
When I’m doing fandom related things.

What is it that you most dislike?
Bullying and putting people down for what they enjoy. It’s not just disgusting, it’s stupid.

What is your greatest fear?
Public speaking, but I’m working on getting over it.

What is your greatest extravagance?
Books, movies, CDs, and all of that.

Which living person do you most despise?
Have any of my friends said anyone other than Mr. Brown? I’ll probably go with him. I don’t despise all that many people. That involves too much effort.

What is your greatest regret?
Probably that I didn’t speak up about something when I should have.

Which talent would you most like to have?
I’d want to be able to do something cool and creative, but I’m not all that sure what.

Where would you like to live?
In theory living in a city would be really cool, but I think I’d end up back in Rockport within a year.

What do you regard as the lowest depth of misery?
Not having anything that you genuinely care about.

What is the quality you most like in a man?
Non-judgmental.

What is the quality you most like in a woman?
The same, but if we’re talking specifically about romantically here, then I’ll expand and say someone who would be willing to let me talk about what I like without judgment.

What is the trait you most deplore in yourself?
My shyness.

What is the trait you most deplore in others?
Judgment or just thinking they’re better than others.

What do you most value in your friends?
Kindness. (Believe it or not, this even applies to Greta once you really get to know her.)

Who is your favorite hero in fiction?
Does it sound a little less cliche if I say Neville Longbottom as opposed to Harry Potter?

Who are your heroes in real life?
J.K. Rowling

Which living person do you most admire?
Also J.K. Rowling. Plus other creators.

What do you consider the most overrated virtue?
I don’t really think any of them are overrated. They’re all good in moderation.

On what occasions do you lie?
Mostly around Emily since she doesn’t know we’re magical, but also around any other non-magicals.

Which words or phrases do you most overuse?
DFTBA? I don’t know.

If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be?
I’d be more okay with myself and willing to put myself out there.

What are your favorite names?
This is embarrassing, but I really want to name my future children after fictional characters.

How would you like to die?
Old age.

If you were to die and come back as a person or a thing, what do you think it would be?
Can I come back as a fictional character or does that not count?

What is your motto?
DFTBA

One thought on “Character Interview: Devon (The Society)

Leave a Reply

