Character Interviews: Emily (The Society)

I had planned to take a longer break from these character interviews, but Emily rounds out Ledia’s best friend group (although I’ve also done Huritt already who isn’t a part of that), so I wanted to go ahead and do hers. Emily is also the only character who is not a magical being. As a reminder, these take place right before the story starts, which means Emily has no idea that the magical world exists. That means her interview is going to be pretty different.

There are only two other characters I have plans to do these for after this (Huritt’s best friend and a character that doesn’t even come in until late in the story yet I want to do anyway). After that I’ll probably take a longer break before there’s any more of these. There’s another character I just started writing though, and I could possibly do one on her soon too. I’m not sure.

On to the interview…

What do you consider your greatest achievement?
Actually passing algebra last year. Math is not my best subject.

What is your idea of perfect happiness?
Being surrounded by people you love.

What is your current state of mind?
Pretty good. I’m feeling really happy.

What is your favorite occupation?
I want to be a nurse. I like the idea of helping people.

What is your most treasured possession?
My scrapbooks filled with all of my memories.

What or who is the greatest love of your life?
My family and friends. Maybe some day I’ll get to say a boy instead.

What is your favorite journey?
Life.

What is your most marked characteristic?
I try to be optimistic.

When and where were you the happiest?
Anywhere when I’m with my family or friends.

What is it that you most dislike?
People who hate others for no good reason.

What is your greatest fear?
Losing the people I love.

What is your greatest extravagance?
Probably makeup.

Which living person do you most despise?
I’m not saying I don’t dislike some people, but I don’t want to put anyone’s name down and have it there forever.

What is your greatest regret?
I’m pretty sure it’s a mistake that I’m making every single day, yet I can’t make myself stop making it.

Which talent would you most like to have?
I wish I could cook like my dad can. He’s amazing, but I’m just sorta okay.

Where would you like to live?
I’ll probably stay in Rockport. I don’t know though. Maybe I’d live in Evansville or Owensboro. I’m open to the possibilities.

What do you regard as the lowest depth of misery?
Not having anyone to care about.

What is the quality you most like in a man?
Just be a decent human being.

What is the quality you most like in a woman?
The same thing in all honesty.

What is the trait you most deplore in yourself?
I hate how much of a push over I am sometimes.

What is the trait you most deplore in others?
Being judgmental.

What do you most value in your friends?
I know that they care about me no matter what.

Who is your favorite hero in fiction?
Katniss Everdeen.

Who are your heroes in real life?
There are so many people who have done amazing things, and I don’t want to limit myself to just one hero. I do greatly appreciate those who have struggled for equal rights in the past and today though.

Which living person do you most admire?
My parents.

What do you consider the most overrated virtue?
I think they’re all important in some way.

On what occasions do you lie?
When I pretend that things are okay when they’re not entirely.

Which words or phrases do you most overuse?
I texted Devon this question because I wasn’t sure, and he said that I say “hi” more than most people.

If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be?
I would stand up for myself more.

What are your favorite names?
I really want to name a daughter Michelle.

How would you like to die?
Happy.

If you were to die and come back as a person or a thing, what do you think it would be?
It would be really awesome to be some sort of bird.

What is your motto?
Treat others how you wish to be treated.

Leave a Reply

