Playlists or No Playlists

I know there are writers out there who create soundtracks for their own books. Sometimes it’s the music they listened to while writing and other times it’s just what they feel fits the book.

I’ve never done that. I enjoy music a lot, but I’ve never felt the need to create playlists around what I’ve written. It’s not something that ever even occurs to me except when I see ones that other writers have created. And I completely get why people do it. I even think it could be cool.

I still never listen to those playlists myself. The drive to do so has just never been there for me. I don’t know why. I think I experience literature and music too separately to put them together like that. For others there may be more overlap.

I did go through a phase when I was younger when I was into applying songs to my favorite fictional couples. (Looking back now, most of my choices didn’t make sense. I don’t know what I was thinking.) But at some point I lost the drive to do that.

Occasionally I’ll hear a song that makes me think of something from a book, but it’s not all that often. I’ve never had the experience with my own writing that I can remember.

Maybe someday I’ll start being interested in that sort of thing, but for now, I’m just not.

Leave a Reply

