Oh, March 25th

It’s been four days. I’m not sure March 25th will ever be the same again.

Okay. That’s melodramatic. I’ve experienced enough tragedies around holidays to know that days are capable of being the same again. Even if there’s still that little twinge of remembrance.

If you don’t know what I’m talking about, then I’m not sure where you’ve been this past week. Zayn Malik left One Direction.

Just typing that sentence is still a bit hard for me. Despite the fact some would like to believe twenty-one is too old to like a boyband, I’ve been a One Direction fan since I was eighteen. I think everyone around me thought it was out of character for me. When my friend and I bought tickets to a concert that was more than a year in advance, my parents scoffed that I wouldn’t care by then.

I’ve now bought tickets to three concerts that were a year or more in advance, been to two of them, and am still a fan.

It just sucks knowing that my third concert will consist of seeing only four of the five boys I got to see in the past.

There seems to be a lot going on here. No one is sure of Zayn’s reasoning for leaving because there are different messages floating around. On top of that, there’s for sure stuff happening behind the scenes that we aren’t getting to see. Understandable. Now of all times would be a time to keep some things to yourself.

I’m still trying to work out what it is we’ve gotten into something that makes coherent sense to me. I think I’m getting there, but I’m not quite satisfied.

Some fans are supporting Zayn and some claim they feel betrayed. I get both angles. Personally, I’m going with support for now. I just don’t feel right shouting about being cheated when I can’t sit down with Zayn and hear all his reasons for leaving. Maybe there was a serious reason, maybe their wasn’t. I’m apt to give him the benefit of the doubt.

Besides, sometimes you have to be selfish and think of yourself. I fully believe that. I can’t claim that sometimes and then back track on it when Zayn does just that.

So, while I plan to support him for the time being, I completely understand the other point of view. There’s a part of me that’s angry too, and sometimes I’m must closer to that side than I would like to be.

The annoying part for me is that we will probably never know they entire story that led to this. That leaves me feeling a tad bit discombobulated. But there’s nothing that I can do. So I’ll continue to support all five boys the best I can. (Unless something damning comes out about Zayn.) That’s really all I can do.

Leave a Reply

