Dear One Direction

I wrote to Little Mix, so it was a given that you guys would be getting a letter too at some point. While both you and Little Mix are so important to me that it’s useless to decide who’s more important, I have been a fan of you guys longer.

I’m willing to admit that I was hard on you guys at first. I was judgmental about the boyband thing, and obviously, you guys weren’t going to have fans except for annoying ones.

I remember sitting at work one day and listening to the radio in one of the rooms. Since I didn’t have control over what customers played while tanning, I was subjected to every type of music during the day. I still can’t listen to most of the songs that came on the radio back in the days of working there. It’s when I solidified my opinion that the radio is useless because it does nothing but overplay the same thing.

Anyway, What Makes You Beautiful started playing, and it was the first time I’d heard the song. My first thought was that it was catchy, and I kind of liked it. But I couldn’t figure out who was singing it because they seemed unfamiliar. I sat there listening to about half the song before it dawned on me. It was definitely a group of guys singing and what was one boyband that I had heard about everywhere on Twitter but had yet to hear? One Direction. I feel bad admitting this now, but I was immediately mad at myself for liking the song. I didn’t want to be a fan of One Direction.

Fast forward only a week or so, and my friend Haley comes to school one day going on about you guys and, in particular, Larry Stylinson. It was obvious she was excited about it, and I knew that, if Haley liked you guys that much, you couldn’t be that bad.

After that, I was at home and wanted to take a break from homework. What Haley had said about Larry Stylinson was running through my mind, and I was curious.

I ended up watching way too many Youtube videos that day, and I went to school the next day and gushed about it all to Haley. Everything else naturally followed from there, and not long after, Haley and I had tickets for a concert that was more than a year away.

My parents didn’t think I’d still like you guys by the time the concert came around, but now I’ve been to two concerts and have a ticket to a third. Needless to say, they were wrong.

You guys have become so important to me, and I really do love all of you. Although this raises the problem of who exactly I’m writing to. Is it five members or four?

Yes, Zayn is no longer in One Direction, but he was for the vast majority of the time I was a fan. He can’t be taken out of this letter. Maybe I should address it “dear One Direction and Zayn,” but that just doesn’t work for me either. Zayn was one part of One Direction for so long that I have to include him in the name for now.

You’re always going to be a part of One Direction in some way, Zayn. I’m sorry, but you’re not going to escape easily.

The future for you guys does seem as unsure as ever now that you’re having to adjust to being four members, and I wish you all the best. We all know I’m going to be eighty years old and listening to your music (or buying it if you’d like to keep going that long), so you’ve got a continuous fan in me. However much that means.

I want all five (yes, five) of you to be happy above everything else. Even through all the stuff you’ve been going through lately, I keep thinking about that. Zayn, you do what you need to do if it makes you happy, and same for you other four boys. That’s what I want more than anything else, as cheesy as that sounds.

Sincerely,

Haley Keller

Leave a Reply

