Letters: Dear Old Friend

Dear Old Friend,

We haven’t spoken in years. I have no idea what you’re even up to these days. You may not even be you anymore. Who am I writing to? Nothing more than a figment of the past?

Probably.

I can’t possibly know.

I debate contacting you sometimes. After all, the past is in the past, and I’m not angry anymore. Now there’s just nostalgia, and I long to have that friend I had back in the good times. But every time I stop because you’re not that you anymore, and I know I’ll only be disappointed in the end.

I have lifelong friends. Friends who I only speak on the phone to sometimes, but when we see each other in person it’s like we were never separated.

You’re not one of those friends. We don’t keep even a semblance of contact. We haven’t spoken in more than five years. When we see each other in public, you look the other way.

It’s not like we were never separated. There’s an entire world between us.

And it will always be that way. Because the past is in the past.

At least I have the memories.

Sincerely,

Haley Keller

Leave a Reply

