The Meaning Behind Ledia’s Name in The Society

I love naming characters. It’s fun to look at different baby names and decide which one fits the character best.

I decided I wanted to talk about it here as well. At first, I was going to do one post on the meaning of all the characters in The Society. Then I decided to do a series of shorter posts on one character since that would allow me to go more in depth without it being crazy long.

We’re going to start off with Ledia as she’s the main character.

Starting with the obvious: Ledia is a form of Lydia. I honestly don’t remember if I had a clear reason for choosing the alternate spelling. I think it might have just been the spelling that caught my eye first, but either way, it’s the spelling I went with. It would feel strange if I changed it now after years of her having that name.

The only requirement I had for myself when I first set out looking for Ledia’s name was that I wanted a name of Greek origin. The idea was for her name to be a reminder of Ledia’s ancestry. Ledia’s family is obsessed with the fact they descended from Circe. In their minds, it’s an crucial part of their identity, and it legitimizes their place in the Society. For that reason, her family have almost exclusively used first names that have some sort of connection to Greek.

I fluctuated at first over choosing a name that came from Georgian, but I did decide on a Greek name in the end. It was a tough call for me. In the end, I chose Greek because it helped symbolize the obsessive nature of striving towards certain ideals. I didn’t think that would be there with a Georgian name. Ledia’s family identifies with their Georgian heritage as well, but they don’t place as much stock in it.

As for the actual meaning, Ledia means “woman of God.” I had decided early on that religion would play a significant role in Ledia’s life. Religion doesn’t play an important role in the plot. Instead, Ledia being a devout Christian was something I found humorous.

Growing up as a Harry Potter fan, I was always so frustrated by people who saw Harry Potter as being evil or anti-Christian. (This is especially irksome considering the “Christian imagery” in the books.) Making my own fantasy character both a witch and a Christian was more or less a way of poking fun at that.

At this point in the story’s progress, religion is mentioned less as things progress, as it’s pushed aside for the plot. However, I have fun playing with a character who is both a witch and a Christian, and I liked the idea of paying homage to that with her name.

When it comes to a last name, that bit is still fluctuating in the story. I have a working name that’s Georgian, and my plan is to stick to a Georgian name. I just haven’t decided on one yet.

The one I’m currently using has been a placeholder for several years. I’ve come up with several alternatives that I’m also considering. A part of me wonders if the current placeholder going to stick because I’ve reached the point where it will be difficult for me to change. It’s not set in stone though, and I want to make sure I make the best decision I can.

At this point, I don’t have any particular meaning in mind for the name. I want it to show an aspect Ledia’s heritage that is more immediate than being Circe’s descendant.

I’m conscious of the fact that picking names within a culture that isn’t your own can be tricky, and I want to go about it as best as I can. I’m not going to pretend like I’m one hundred percent sure if I’m going about it the right way.

Leave a Reply

