The Meaning of Huritt’s Name in The Society

This is the second post exploring the meaning of the characters’ names in my story The Society. This one is focusing on Huritt, who is tricky to talk about. In Ledia’s post, I discussed how her last name is still up for discussion. Well, Huritt’s first name (and, to a less extent, his last) is still up for discussion. (EDIT: Large portions of this post are no longer accurate to the current version of the story I am working on.)

You see, Huritt is part Native American and part white. In the same way Ledia’s family wants to use Greek names, the idea is that Huritt’s family does the same with Native American names. However, this gets tricky, and I’m still trying to figure out how best to approach certain things in the story.

I know writing about Native Americans as “magical” can be problematic. The Society in the story works through lineage. The idea is that each “region” has had one family in charge for ages because they’re the oldest, most powerful line. Because of this, the people in charge in any particular region must have descended from people who were there a long time ago. This is true for everywhere in the world, but for America, of course, this would point towards Native Americans. It’s not Native Americans as a whole, only certain families, and some of those families are only part Native today. Still, I am aware that there are plenty of ways to screw up here and do something problematic. I’m still struggling to best work out certain parts of the story and make decisions about if it works okay, and so on.

The reason that’s relevant to this post is that I want to be careful what I name Huritt was well. “Huritt” is an Algonquin name, which is a tribe not from where Huritt’s family is. In my mind, his family would have wanted any Native American name. I’m still considering giving him one related to what his particular ancestry would be. A large part of me thinks that would be a better option. (EDIT: I am changing it. This entire post is out of date at this point.)

As for the meaning though, Huritt means handsome. It’s funny now because Huritt has changed more than any other character has since I started writing. There have been times were he was a straight up villain, times when he was a straight up good guy, and times when he was a mixture of the two. I won’t say what he currently is now. Why ruin the surprise?

In the beginning though, he was going to be Ledia’s main romantic interest. That idea has come back and changed a ton of times, but it’s why I gave him a name that meant handsome. He also, at one point, was going to be a villain but was going to trick Ledia into falling in love with him anyway. (I’ll go ahead and verify right now that that’s not the route things currently go. It was an early idea that never even got written down.) So, using “handsome” felt like a good fit then too.

These days, I still like the meaning but for different reasons. These have nothing to do with Huritt’s relationship with Ledia but with his relationship with his father and the world. That’s all I’m going to say on that since I don’t want to give a massive amount of stuff away.

Huritt’s last name is Brown. I don’t think I need to go into what that means literally. For the story, it was chosen because the Brown family is in an ambiguous group, and you’re not sure how good of people they are. They’re not the Blacks or the Whites. The name’s a reference to that without using a color such as Grey for their last name. I thought Brown kept things a bit more ambiguous, but the meaning is still there. It also relates to “muddy” and things like that, which I think explain the Brown family pretty well.

Leave a Reply

