Music and Writing

There are a lot of writers who create playlists for their books. I’ve stumbled upon plenty with playlists on their websites. Either a soundtrack of sorts to the story and/or what the author listened to while writing.

Some fans love this too. I’ve seen fans ask for playlists from authors who don’t make them. I assume they listen to the playlists while reading because that’s what seems to be the reason for them.

I wouldn’t know because I’ve never been one of those people. I’ve never been one of those writers or one of those readers.

I love music. I listen to music just as much as I read on any given day. I’ll listen to music while I’m doing a lot of things, but I will never listen to it when I’m writing or reading. It’s too distracting from reading. I can’t focus on the story, and I feel even more strongly about that when writing. I’m someone who has to focus on the music when I’m listening to it. I can’t do that and either read or write at the same time.

I just can’t do it. I’ve tried before, and it never works. I can only focus on the music when it’s playing, nothing else.

Authors getting inspiration from music makes complete sense to me. Just recently I wrote something after getting the idea while listening to a song. That rarely happens to me, but it does sometimes. Still, it blows my mind that authors can listen to music when they write. I’ll never be able to do it.

Leave a Reply

