To NaNoWriMo or Not to NaNaWriMo

I’ve debated doing NaNoWriMo for more than five years now, but I have yet to actually do it. For quite a while, it was because November was such an inconvenient month. In high school, I always felt like I had too much work to devote time to writing 50,000 words in November.

Then, senior year, I got more disciplined about writing and began giving myself daily word counts I had to reach. By college I was writing 50,000+ words a month. I do that regularly now. I can’t remember the last time I didn’t make it, even in November, when I’m focused on writing as opposed to editing. So I can’t use that excuse anymore, but I still have yet to join NaNoWriMo.

Every year I debate it, and every year I decide against it for a number of reasons. For one, I feel like it’s about motivation, which is not something I need if I’m already making that word count. What’s a bigger issue for me though is that I’ve always been in the middle of something else whenever NaNoWriMo rolls around. Either I’m in the middle of writing something or I’m focused on editing something else. The timing is never right, and I’ve never been able to hold off on something and sit around for a few weeks just so I can wait for the first of November.

Doing NaNoWriMo is still something I think about whenever it’s brought up. People seem to have so much fun doing it, and I think it would be worth a shot at least one year. I may do it in the future, or I may not. I suppose only time will tell.

Leave a Reply

