Dear Ron,

A year ago, I wrote a letter to Hermione to tell her how much she has meant to me over the years. I didn’t mean for it to take this long to write one to you too.

At first I didn’t take you seriously. I’m ashamed to admit it, but I just didn’t pay you much attention. I fell into the trap that so many Harry Potter fans criticize movie watchers for. I didn’t realize how amazing of a character and person you were.

That’s changed as I’ve gotten older. When I was a kid, Hermione was my favorite Harry Potter character hands down. I had blinders on. Now I realize that the two of you are tied. It’s impossible for me to say one of you is better than the other now.

Hermione is the so-called smart one of the group. Whenever you need to know something, you go to Hermione. I appreciated that as a kid, especially being a bookworm like her. I overlooked the fact that you were just as important. You don’t have Hermione’s book smarts, but you are just really good at being a best friend. (Yes, you screwed up like everyone else, but Hermione took convincing before she would admit that the Hallows were real.)

That was a trait I took for granted as a kid because I assumed that everyone had it. It’s only years later that I realize that’s not the case. People like you are people who should be appreciated just as much as anyone else with any other talent.
So, thank you, Ron, for being such a great friend to Harry and Hermione and me. I may not have realized how much you were shaping my childhood at the time, but you still managed to have just as much of an effect as Hermione. I won’t take that for granted again.

Sincerely,

Haley Keller

Leave a Reply

