Update on The Society (My Current Novel/Project)

In an illustration of how terrible I’ve been at keeping this blog updated, I was going to write and post this on my book blog before I realized that, obviously, this was the better place. I don’t know how my brain took so long to realize that.

I’ve talked about The Society on here before. It’s the novel I’m working on and have been working on for several years. That’s a long time, but in reality, I’ve written drafts of multiple novels that are part of a series. The Society is the current title of the first one, and it’s my largest focus right now.

The plan was to have drafts of each novel in the series written first so that I could be sure I knew where the story was going. Then I would go back and edit the first novel into something publishable, and I would attempt to get it published.

Well, I have drafts of the entire series now, and I’ve shifted my focus to The Society only for now. It’s been that way for what feels like quite a while but has been a few months in actuality. One of my goals when I started this blog was to track my progress on that series, but I haven’t followed through well. Largely because I feel self-conscious talking about this series when I don’t know what sort of fate it will have in the end. I’d love for them to be published, but I have no way of knowing whether or not that will happen.

For now though, I want to get better at talking about my progress here, so this is what is currently going on with the writing process:

Like I said, I had rough drafts of the entire series. After that, I went back to The Society and read through it after a couple of years of having it sitting away. It was as awful as I expected. That was clear in how much I had changed later in the series knowing I would have to change more in the first book.

This is an urban fantasy with a main cast of various magical beings. One of the main characters changed species at some point in writing, and I forgot about that when I picked up the first novel again. That was a surprise, so I have to fix that. The change also has huge implications for him as a character, which means it’s a big job. And there are a million other things to change. Not an exaggeration.

So, I read through the entire novel and made notes on what needed to changed or be expanded upon or be cut. Then I went through and did one round of edits.

Then I had a crisis where I felt like that draft couldn’t be fixed, so I wrote a new, partial draft that was a re-write of the first half of the novel. Then I decided that I liked the end of the previous draft well enough that I could work with it. Because of that, I’ve decided to link the newer half-draft with parts of the older draft. That’s where I’m currently at with it.

Once I finish that, I have no way of knowing what I’ll tackle next with the draft, but I know there’s a long way to go. I’ll update you in the future with where the process has taken me.

Leave a Reply

