Learning

I enjoy learning new things. Sometimes, when I’m up to my neck in schoolwork, I can forget that I like learning, but even then, I may spend a break from my schoolwork by watching educational videos on YouTube or reading a nonfiction book. I genuinely like learning.

Sometimes I wonder, though, if I spend too much time trying to take in new information and not letting old information sink in. Learning, after all, doesn’t happen unless I can recall and use the information, which requires at least hearing it more than once. The vast majority of the time it also requires using the information, which in many cases I can be even less apt to do.

I do think I let it sink in at times. I read multiple books on a topic. I follow multiple blogs/websites on the same broad topic, and I’ll read articles they each post on the same thing (although in that case it might also be to see if they say anything different). I do make attempts to really learn things.

Of course, when it comes to doing, I can’t use all of the information I take in. Some of it doesn’t call for physical action, and I also can’t write essays about everything just to make sure I’ve got it. That would be a lot of essays to write in too little time.

But maybe that’s something I have to accept. I like taking in new information. It’s interesting. Maybe I won’t remember all of it, but hopefully, I’ll remember some of it, which is better than not having any of it at all.

Leave a Reply

