Words Are Important

The importance of word choice is such a large topic that I can’t scratch the surface in one blog post. As I sit here, I have no idea where to begin or what, exactly, I want to say.

Two words can have the same basic definition, but we know their connotations are different even if said connotation is difficult to put into words. The words we choose to use say something important about our message and, by extension, us.

My belief in this concept is one of the reasons I get frustrated at the belief that we have a new “politically correct” culture that is ruining society, an argument that is typically used when someone disagrees with another’s language.

Word choice matters. It always has and it will continue to as long as we have language. Otherwise, we wouldn’t have multiple words with the same basic meaning. Which word you choose says something more than it’s basic definition, and though I never lived in an ancient civilization, I imagine that it was the same in the past in most (if not all) cultures. I’m also willing to bet that people always got angry at the words of others, even if that person had the freedom of speech to say them.

That’s nothing new. Why are some of us pretending like it is?

Leave a Reply

