Dear Toph,

Note: This is part of my letters series where I write letters. They’re almost always to fictional characters or concepts, not so much real people. (I have to admit that this is one of my least favorites that I’ve written.)

Of all the characters of Avatar, you’re likely one of the most popular. It’s not surprising.

When we learned of your later life through the comics and Korra, I have to admit to initially being surprised. I hadn’t pegged you for someone who would open a metal bending school or run a police force. Looking back on it now, though, I don’t know why I didn’t.

I was young when I began watching Avatar. When I was first introduced to you I was in middle school, and I don’t think I appreciated your depth in the same way I do now. Your hard outer shell was all I saw, and while I thought you were incredible, I didn’t think someone like that would want to help people through teaching or want to help uphold the law, especially with your penchant for rule breaking.

You were always a kinder person than I gave you credit for though. I’m not at all calling your personality a shield that hides a soft side. That’s not how I think of it. Instead, both sides of you coexist, and I’m glad I can see that now when I couldn’t before.

Sincerely,

Haley

Leave a Reply

